top of page

Viajando

Kaylee's Travel Blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureKaylee Marie

Free Tapas and a String Quartet


Santa Cruz y Wine on the River

Wednesday, February 13th and Thursday, February 14th

During my Culture of Wine and Food course we had a tour of El Barrio de Santa Cruz which is where CEA is located. My professor explained the history of La Plaza de Santa Cruz, the people who live in the neighborhood and pointed out neat spots to relax and the significant monuments there. I finally connected the paths to get from CEA to the Cathedral to the Alcazar (which I STILL need to see but will probably wait until my family visits). That evening I chilled at Filo over a delicious cup of cafe con leche and carrot cake. Valentine’s Day was spent right with hanging out with some of my friends at the river for the evening. We picked up two bottles of wine and made our way to watch the sunset and enjoy each other’s company. We chose a classic white wine and a made in Sevilla out of oranges, red wine. As much as I wished I could said it was good, it tasted more like cough syrup than anything, so would not really recommend. It was however for the experience and to say we finally had the Sevillian made wine. We drank them casually beside some other CEA students (there is no open carry law here) who we got to know a bit better by chatting about our music interests and comparing our experiences in Spain. We stayed out a bit past dark enthralled in conversations. However, we had an early start to Granada the next morning so we returned to our casas for dinner and bed following dusk.


Alhambra

Friday, February 15th

We left very early for the mountainous city. Our bus departed at 8, and it took us 3 hours to get there. At bathroom stop I drank a cafe con leche and ate a delicious apple tart for breakfast. Arriving in Granada we dropped off our luggage at the hotel and had some time to kill before our Alhambra tour so I found a Dunkin’ to get a tasty mango smoothie. We ate our packed lunches (mine being a bocadillo made by Teresa) outside the gates of the Alhambra and got into our respective small tour groups. I had to switch around a bit since they kept miscounting the number of ear pieces they had. We began the tour and room after room, view after view I increasingly was more amazed and continued to grow in awe of this establishment and its beauty. The Alhambra is an Arab citadel and palace; it continues uphold its legacy and showcase the cities rich and religious history. Pictures and explanations do not do it justice. The landmark is something that can only be truly experienced in person and has been so far one of my favorite places to see.

After the tour we walked back down the mountain towards to hotel to prepare for the Granada way of eating and exploring. I went around with my 9 friends to try and soak in good food and the Granada experience. In the city, if and when you order a drink you are given a free tapa of the establishment's choosing. At our first stop I, of course, ordered a tinto de verano and in return received a plate of sabroso (tasty) seafood paella. We proceeded to tapa and drink hop throughout the rest of the city. Our next stop was a bar where we split up into three tables. Here we were actually able to choose our tapa of choice. I ordered my tinto and the three of us at the table ordered Milanesa (pollo empanado, lechuga y ali olí), Croqueta casera and Alitas de pollo a la miel to split. We then walked and window shopped until we got to our next destination. Since everyone in our program was exploring the city this way so I saw someone’s post of a delicious looking glass of sangria and so got the name and there we went. We ordered the goblets and their 10 tapas for 10 euro deal. We got to try many of the traditional tapas of Spain such as queso curado, jamón serrano con frijoles, calamares fritos, tortilla de patatas, croquetas, paella, camarones, patatas bravas y aceitunas. Afterward we walked to get churros con chocolate and savor in its sweetness. My group stopped at a convenient store to pick up some drinks and some chocolate bars to enjoy back at the hotel. The rooms were spacious, beautiful and beds were so comfy; I slept the best sleep since arriving to Spain.


Albaicín

Saturday, February 16th

We woke up around 9 to gobble down the massive breakfast provided in our hotel. It was a buffet so I tried so many different pastries, hot dishes, cheeses, fruits and of course a fancy coffee. We packed up our room and walked with CEA to the busses to go to Albaicín which is the ancient center neighborhood of Granada where Muslims and Moors used to flood and live. We had a tour guide explain our views throughout the city on our way there and explain the history of specific buildings and structures within Granada. Our guide then led us around the streets of white and pointed out significant areas and markets. As the tour came to a near end, some of my friends split off to check out a market where I purchased a beautiful moon crest and stoned ring to match my opal ring from Nate. We went by a mosque and into a Catholic Church. All the places of worship here are so ornate, decorated in tile and gorgeous painted detailing. The street signs along the walls of the corners of plazas are all made of ceramic and written in a blue cursive font. They even all have a depiction of a pomegranate as that is what the name of the city translates to. Granada is surrounded by mountains capped with snow and hills to mask the vast city borders. You are just surrounded by art both natural and human made. We went to a cute outdoor tapa restaurant in a quaint plaza right next to a pretty church and I ordered a glass of white wine. We received a free tapa of chicken paella but also ordered separately albondigas (meatballs) con patatas, lomo con ajos and tortilla de jamón. Walking back towards the hotel for our trip back to Sevilla we passed through Moroccan stores and saw so many lamps, leather, rugs, tapestries and jewelry. I stopped for some caramel gelato and split some more churros con chocolate again with friends. I was pretty exhausted so I slept most of the way back to Sevilla. Teresa was at her mom’s for the weekend so she left Kate and I some tasty lasagna for dinner.


Market Hopping

Sunday, February 17th

I woke up early to go to mass at the Cathedral in Sevilla at 10 with my friends Zoë and Gabby. It began in Latin hymns and a procession of incense and blessings. Then it followed in Spanish chants and prayers. After mass I met up with several other friends at Dunkin to then go to the two Sunday markets in Sevilla. There was a marathon throughout the city so getting from one point to the other had its challenges but also was exciting to see everyone cheering on and celebrating the runners. The Triana market was right across the bridge of the city center along the river. It consisted of several artisan booths of trinkets and hand made objects. We walked along the area and saw a painting that my friends claimed looked like me (see the image below and let me know what you think) and several jewelry tents. One tent that caught my eye was interactive with their customers. It was similar to a caricature session where you sit down and within thirty minutes, the four contributing artists observe and draw their own rendering of you and then you get to purchase whichever one you prefer. Impressively enough, one of the artists was a young girl around the age of eight. After walking past the market we continued down the edge of the river to Jardines de Guadalquivir. After crossing the river we went by Museo de Bellas Artes which had a large art market. There we browsed the various types of art made my locals and then walked back towards our casas. On our way we stopped in several Sabor de España’s where they have free samples of roasted nuts and brittle. Returning to my casa I relaxed a bit until returning to the river. On the way I picked up a large bottle of tinto de verano to sip on and relax with overlooking the water and sunset with friends. We stayed way past sunset as we were invested in conversations and meeting some “locals” who stopped by to chat. I even got gelato to last me until dinner. Returning to mi casa, I was welcomed back with an order of Chinese food (which is better than American Chinese food in my opinion). I went to rest up for a new week.


Flamenco and Madrid

Monday, February 18th - Thursday, February 21st

Now that I’m finally on a normal schedule I don’t necessarily need to write out everything I did each day. Instead, for week day updates I’ll just write about new happenings. Monday was pretty uneventful as it is I my busiest day of classes giving me not much time to do anything else. To allow me time to breathe instead of rushing to eat within the two hours I have between two of my classes, Teresa makes me a bocadillo to eat at EUSA so I don’t have to rush back home and then back to class. I spent the evening researching for my spring break trip and accommodations for future trips.


Tuesday was pretty uneventful. After class they have a breakfast with the professors which is nice to continue growing my CEA community. That evening I went to a Flamenco Show sponsored by CEA. We went to La Flamenqueria where I not only got to witness a flamenco show but learn about its history and significant meanings behind certain moves danced, words sung and guitar chords strung. I was in awe of the rich significance and detail to every part of the show. I sat in awe practically with my jaw dropped at every movement.


Wednesday was pretty uneventful beyond my classes and walking around the city center. Thursday I packed and relaxed until leaving for Madrid. My class ended early to give us the time to see the bike race throughout Spain that was starting in La Plaza de España in Seville. I tried to walk over but we missed it by a hot second. During the day I laid our on the terrace and then watched a "new" show recommended by my dad. That evening I took the train and met up with Nate at the station. He made me a fancy and delicious dinner at his apartment and then I headed to bed to wake up early for my flight.


Mary and Kaylee Take Vienna

Saturday, February 22nd

My flight was at 8:25 AM and this was my first trip outside of Spain and into the void of Europe. I was paranoid about missing my flight and didn’t want to risk being late by taking the metro that opened up at 6:00 so I left by Uber at 5:00 AM. I arrived to the airport at 5:20 and was through security and sitting at coffee shop by 5:38. I totally could have slept in to take the metro but my mom's voice of “3 hours for international flights” rang in my head. I went to McDonalds for the first time which is much fancier here than in the US. I got to board right after priority seating since I just had my one bag and I anxiously waited take off. Arriving in Vienna, Austria Mary met me right out of the baggage claim. We took an ÖBB towards the city and stopped at a mall to get lunch at Burger Bros where we of course got burgers (which I haven’t had a real American one since being in US). Mary showed me the way of the metro as we went to go pick up the keys and check into my Airbnb. It was absolutely beautiful and very accessible to the city being right in a quiet neighborhood north of the center. We then went back to the center to walk through the touristy areas and to point out all the need to see places in Vienna. Mary took me to where she has classes and I was amazed at the complexity of her classrooms. She seriously takes classes in an ornate and gold detailed ballroom. We walked past the Opera House and some famous bakeries. Mary showed me her apartment and we cheered over a glass of wine to reuniting in Europe.


We then went to one of the three Belvedere Museums which just happened to be having their free entrance day on the day I visit. I got to the see the famous painting of the Kiss and other various Viennese artists. There I met with Chris, one of the guys staying with me in the Airbnb from Nate’s Madrid school and we then walked around the city until returning to our Airbnb. I said my goodbyes to Mary as she was leaving for Budapest on Saturday. She however is going to be visiting me for a weekend hopefully in March. Chris and I then walked around the streets by the apartment to find a place to eat. We ended up at a nice restaurant called Kent where the menu was completely in German so we ordered based on pictures and on pure luck and suggestions. We both were relieved to enjoy both of our meals however not even really knowing exactly what it was. Even when getting the titles of the plates on the bill, we were still clueless on who ate what. I did also got a tasty cup of the Vienna famous Melange coffee that was worth every penny. Afterwards we waited on the arrival of the rest of our housemates. Their flight got delayed almost two hours late so they didn’t get to the house until past midnight. It was nice to see some familiar faces from my visits to UIUC and meet some new people to share the rest of the weekend with.


Palaces, Sacher Cake and Mozart

Saturday, February 23rd

We woke up early to get to the center of the city. Once there we split up to find breakfast and explore. Nate, Sam, Natalie, Connor and I went to a fancy breakfast place that definitely overcharged us for our croissants and soft boiled eggs. Afterwards though we walked to the Cathedral and entered in its beauty. We found out we can get to the top by climbing 343 steps up the tower and get an amazing view of the city 365 degrees. We then went to Saint Peters Church to purchase string quartet tickets for that evening at a student discounted price. We walked towards the Opera house and found some inner courtyards and fancy grocery store that had an escalator for the carts and proved the overcharge of the pastries from breakfast. On our way to the Opera House we saw the Albertina art museum and Mozart Cafe.


We went inside Gerstner - Schlumberger Bar and were in awe of the detailing and visual art of the pastries and cakes in the counter display case. We wanted to order to sit down so we were sent upstairs to wait for a seat. We walked up two flights of stairs to lead us into the fanciest place you could go to eat pastries of all forms. They were very busy so we decided to take our seats at the bar which paved out to be more entertaining than a table probably would have been. We all ordered our various cakes and were mesmerized by the bartender and barista in one making captivating drinks to complement the beauty of the pastries. We all got to try each other cakes and savor our selections beneath such beautiful ceiling decked in gold detailing, ancient paintings and ornate trim.


Afterward we proceeded to walk around the city center and then find our way to the metro to get to Schönbrunn Palace where we took a guided Grand Tour. This baroque palace was where the Habsburgs stayed during the summer and showcased the monarchy history of Vienna. We toured only 40 rooms of the entire 1,441 that consisted of state rooms and private apartments of the imperial couple and their family dynasty. We then returned to our Airbnb neighborhood to go grocery shopping to make dinner for the eight of us. We picked up sausages, pasta, salad, rolls, vegetables and of course wine which brought our total to being 3 euros a person. Nate and I (mostly Nate) cooked and cut up dinner to be enjoyed by everyone. Afterward the five of us who had tickets went back to the center to go to our show. I was in awe of the natural talent from the musicians and felt overwhelming grateful to be listening to Mozart in his home city. They also played pieces from Bach, Haydn and Beethoven. My favorite surprisingly was Vivaldi. It was very intimate concert in the small but beautiful venue of St. Peter's Church.

Proceeding the concert we went to try the famous cake of Vienna, Sacher-Torte at the Sacher Hotel by the Opera house. Both the cake and the whip cream both were confusingly not sweet but not bitter. It was hard to put a name to the taste but it was divine nonetheless. We returned back to the apartment to finish our wine, cook and eat the rest of the pasta, watch American shows in German and rest.


Returning Home

Sunday, February 24th

I woke up and packed for my return home. I ended my time in Austria with my housemates at a local cafe where I ate the traditional Kaiserschmarrn with Elderflowers which was a shredded pancake with a plum compote and drank the traditional Melange coffee. I said my goodbyes and headed to take the metro to the ÖBB. The airport was a breeze and I was thoroughly impressed with myself for figuring out my way around public transportation solo. I flew into Madrid and then proceed to make my way to the train station from the airport. I found myself at 100 Montaditos for lunch as they were having their Sunday all sandwiches for a dollar deal. I ended up getting four along with a plate of patatas fritas con bacon y queso and a jar of tinto de verano (my bill was a whopping 6.50 Euros!). My sandwiches consisted of calamares en su tinto y alioli, caprese con jamón gran reserva, queso fresco, tomate y pesto, queso brie and carrillera al vino tinto y queso ibérico. I chilled in the station and was shocked to find that you needed to pay to use the restroom there. My train left promptly at 7:30 PM and I used the time to reflect and start actually writing this thing. That evening I reunited with some friends at the river to talk about our weekends and to build up excitement for future trips. Until next time!


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Abril

bottom of page