top of page

Viajando

Kaylee's Travel Blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureKaylee Marie

Abril

April


Despedidas hasta junio

Monday, April 1st


Since it was my family's last day in Spain, I skipped my morning class to meet them for breakfast, shopping and lunch. Unfortunately, their last impression of Sevilla was a rainy one. I left them my bike pass, so my siblings used it to make their way over to meet me at Jester for breakfast. We grabbed some pastries, smoothies and an acai bowl to then go to the mall to find my grandpa his favorite licorices from Spain. We browsed the stores and then walked close to my tourism school, EUSA, to eat lunch. We went to San Tomas, a cheap and delicious coffee and tapa place I found and loved. I ordered several tapas that my family had yet to try like salmorejo, espinacas con garbanzos (which my mom loved) y ensaladilla de pulpo en mortero. I then left them with the check and went to my two afternoon classes. They, I believe, went shopping and then went back to their hotel to relax. After my last class, I went back to my casa to pick up my bag I was sending back home with my family and met up with them. I dropped it off in their hotel room and then we went for dinner at a place I previous made a reservation at, El Pinton. My mom and I split a bottle of wine and shared Paella. Kathy got risotto and Gabe got tortilla de patata. We ate the most delicious desserts of a brownie and two jars that consisted one of lemon and another of dulce de leche. After we were stuffed, we returned to the hotel and a had a last night goodbye sleepover. They packed and then we all played card games until we dozed off.


Hola Obama

Tuesday, April 2nd - Wednesday, April 3rd


I sent them off the next morning and then returned to my casa until class. It was bittersweet saying goodbye but the time since then has already flown by. They ended up getting stuck in Madrid after their delayed flight from Sevilla, but all was good as they got accommodations and three meals at a super nice hotel attached to the airport until their flight was pushed until the following day. Both Tuesday and Wednesday were normal week school days. Nothing out of the ordinary happened other than ex-President Obama visiting Sevilla. I didn't end up seeing him, but I did see everyone else waiting for him outside his hotel. I just spent my free time soaking in the peering sun and prepping for my trip to Poland. I did end up treating myself to a manicure before my trip.


Vamos a Polonia

Thursday, April 4th


After going to the beginning part of my communications class, I left early to take the bus to the airport for my trip. On my first flight I talked with a Spaniard most of the way there in Spanish. I had an overlay in Palma de Mallorca. I was able to grab lunch and relax a bit before my flight to Krakow. Arriving in Poland, I waited in baggage claim for my best friend to arrive. Once she did, we ordered an Uber and made our way to city center. After getting there we went to get dinner at one of Brie's favorite spots from her World Youth Day trip, Kogel Mogel. I ordered beef cheek and a traditional polish soup in a bread bowl and Brie got duck. After our day of travels, being that it was the longest flight we have taken in Europe so far, we checked into our cute and spacy airbnb and headed to bed.


Minas de Sal

Friday, April 5th


We started our morning with coffee and pastries before heading to the salt mines. We arrived and embarked on our tour. It was like unlike anything I have been in before. The whole mine was either wood or salt. Chapels, structures and statues were carved out. Most of it was at least 15 million years old. The air was so pure and clean. Horses used to be in the mines and help carry the barrels and pull the turbines. There were pools of water so clear and crisp; the chandeliers were made with 3500 salt crystals. The salt is self-cleaning so I even licked the walls once or twice. It was an experience unlike no other. Afterwards we purchased our own bath salts to take home and walked by Saltworks castles.

Returning to our airbnb, we dropped off the bath salts and proceeded as tourists. We stopped at a small bakery that we saw selling paczkis. We both got the traditional rose filled; it was delicious. For lunch we went to Wisniowy Sad Restauracia where we ordered the best pierogies I have ever had. Entering we saw a chef hand rolling out the dough. We ordered Kvass, a traditional Russian cold drink, mine being a float with a ball of ice cream. We ended up getting pierogies with cabbage and mushrooms and with potatoes. Then we went to the center with Saint Mary's Basilica and Fontanta Rynku. Poland is just such a cute city filled with cute people, buildings and detailings. I got a sign from Papa when I ran across "Harris Piano Jazz Bar". I, of course, had to take a picture right in front. We walked around the city and ended up going inside Saint Peter and Paul church. From there we went to Wawel Royal Castle. Walking its borders, we found a way to get into the center plaza within the walls. We got to overlook the beautiful city along the water. There were so many flowers in bloom so we of course took pictures. We sat by the river and took in traveling together on our bff trip. We picked up some gelato before dinner, porque no? and then stopped at a grocery store to make ourselves some pesto pasta.


En Conmemoración de

Saturday, April 6th


Our morning began with once again coffee and pastries. We walked across the river to try and see if we could make it into Schindler's Factory Museum. On our way we saw a emotional filled memorial, the Plac Bohaterow Getta, in commemoration to the Holocaust which is a sight of chairs marking some of the mass murders of the Krakow Jews. We were able to get into the museum and got a mass overload of emotions all over the history and impact of this beautiful city during World World II. It was truly impactful and saddening. We walked to Schindler's steps and then out for food. We went to a Polish restaurant and I got beet soup with dumplings, polish sausage and polish vodka. It was down pouring by then so we went in and out of buildings until heading to the Pope John Paul II basilica where we attended Polish mass. I ran into another sign from Papa Harris of a store called Nord. That evening we ended up at Karaoke bar for a bit before trying to find dinner. We ordered some drinks and split some fish and chips. Then we went back to our airbnb to pack for our departure the following morning.


Dulces de Semana Santa

Sunday, April 7th


Leaving Poland, we got breakfast and coffee in the airport. Brie's flight left first so I waited a bit before my first flight to Palma de Mallorca again. On my flight back I ended up watching Schindler's List to grasp the full picture of our tour of the factory. It was surreal to put that I was just in the city where it happened; it was hard to grasp but so impactful. Returning back to Sevilla, I stopped at the Patio de la Diputacion for their tourism free weekend sample event which this weekend was Dulces de Cuaresma with honeys, large hollow chocolate eggs, french toast and other sweets. The rest of the day I spent unpacking and staying indoors since it was grey and rainy. I went to English mass at Saint Joses and ended up lectoring again. After I went to Filo to work on my last blog.


La Rutina

Monday, April 8th - Friday, April 12th


Back in my class schedule nothing was too out of the ordinary. It was a rainy Monday and I got to try horchata in my culture of food and wine class. Tuesday was pretty uneventful nonetheless. After my Communications class I went to the CEA breakfast and chilled in the lounge getting my Semana Santa plans ready. I went to Almazen to finish up and post my blog from the rest of March. I ended up getting their delicious hibiscus mint iced tea and carrot cake. That evening I went out with friends to celebrate my friend Caroline's birthday and ran into lots of my classmates from EUSA and CEA. Wednesday, I was the only one in my morning 8:45 class. My advertising class relocated to my professor's Thai restaurant where I got a delicious bowl of glass noodles and tried my new favorite mango sticky rice dessert and ice cream. For my culture of food and wine class, we met at a learning center where we were to take a cooking course. We split into teams to make the traditional Spanish dishes of salmorejo and tortilla de patata. I am excited to bring home the techniques and recipes back home. I cut up our decorations to put on our creations of our team name, "Super Guay" (super cool). My team ended up winning! After class I sat with friends at Plaza del Triunfo went to mass at Santa Cruz. Thursday was likewise relaxing and very chill knowing that the next week was to be busy, crazy and full. I met up with friends at Filo and we all shared some coffees and cookies. Friday I got to sleep in until going with my host mom to Lorenzo's school's Semana Santa procession. After I ended up doing one of my favorite athletic things with some friends in the afternoon, rollerblading. I loved skating around the streets and parks; I got to help assist and teach my friend Mia who was just doing it for the first time. I helped my host mom with some calls to her hotel in Italy and then got ready for Nate's arrival.


Bienvenida a Mi Amada Ciudad Mi Amor

Saturday, April 13th


My morning began with heading to train station to meet up with Nate. He was coming for his first time to Sevilla until our trip all over Italy. His train arrived around 10 am. From the the train station, we went to Almazen where I got my Hibiscus iced tea and he got a large cafe con leche. What a reversal of roles. Then we went to go check into his hostel and get all situated. I began as his tour guide through el Barrio de Santa Cruz. I pointed out my school, CEA as we walked through the beautiful Jardines de Murillo. Around the Cathedral we picked up free samples at Sabor a España and browsed various tea and tourists shops. We found an open door that was a ceramic vendor and art store or showroom. From there we went towards the river at Torre del Oro. We walked along the river past our bullfighting ring we went to Triana bridge. I took him through Plaza Nueva and Plaza de Fernando where they were setting up the stages for chairs for Semana Santa. Once we made it back by the Cathedral, we went to Casa Tomate for lunch. We ate salmorejo, espinacas con garbanzos, pork cheek, goat cheese and fried eggplant and honey. After eating we just walked around soaking in Sevilla and spending time with each other for the first time since Vienna. We passed by most of the churches I attended until we walked over to the mall by my casa. Sevilla was hosting a big derby today of the two soccer teams of Sevilla, Betis vs Sevilla, against each other. By the mall, Nervion, we tried to look for scarf that had both teams on it. Instead, after we realized were too early, we went a grocery store and picked up oranges. We went to the nearby park to eat them and I took a semi nap. Then I took Nate back to my casa to meet Teresa. After chatting for at least an hour or so, we went to mass at Santa Cruz. After mass the derby was about to begin. We went to the bar by my casa for the soccer game and were surrounded by supporters of both teams chanting, reacting and yelling. For dinner we went to 100 montaditos and then left for meeting up with my friends for drinks at Rebotica. Then Nate walked with me home, and we departed to go to bed.


Domingo de Ramos

Sunday, April 14th

I met up with Nate who was walking aimlessly by the University of Sevilla. We picked up oranges and sat by Jerez Gate Square and saw a couple of nazarenos. Then walked by Palacio de San Telmo and saw the beautiful purple flowers covering Sevilla. Through strolling in Jardines de Murillo, we made it to Filo for coffee before mass. For Palm Sunday we went to my classic church, Santa Maria la Blanca, where my favorite priest was processing. It was getting to be almost lunch time so we went by other University, EUSA, and ate at San Tomas. It was super tasty as we got ensalada del chef, pluma iberica and arroz marinero. Plaza de España was our next stop. We saw flamenco performances, horse drawn carriages and boat rides through the canals under the bridgers. Then we went to Maria Luisa park. I got to take a little in the shade and Nate got to soak in beautiful gardens. After we went Paso searching by the central hub, the cathedral. We almost got killed and trampled as we got front row of one of the large pasos. It was incredible to see the immense amount of people, processions and details on the floats. We decided to keep searching for more and ended up getting stuck finding dinner walking to las Setas. We ended up at the Good Burger and saw more pasos from the second floor windows. After eating we made it to Las Setas and saw processions come from three streets from the top of the steps. I sobbed overseeing the gigantic paso of the crucification of Jesus. We ran into my friends in the plaza and we all went to Los Angelitos. Some of them got Torrijos, the traditional Semana Santa treat like French Toast. Then I got some gelato at Las Bolas. After we split off to go to sleep.


Tomar a Italia

Monday, April 15th

Nate and I met up in the morning for breakfast at Filo. We planned our trip that would mark the end of Nate's time abroad and during my other week off, feria. We walked to Torre de Sevilla and the Trinana neighborhood. We ended up at Primark so I could purchase a suitcase fit for Ryanair carry on standards. Then we went looking for lunch. We ended up at my professor's Thai food restaurant and then looked for more pasos. I did a load of laundry so I could be ready for Italy and went Easter dress searching. My host mom was able to get Nate into her gym so he could workout before our trip. I continued to go dress shopping but failed since I hate shopping. We ended up sitting on bench and planning out our first day in Italy. We walked towards the center to see our last bit of pasos. We were there for a bit because by the time we were done all the grocery stores were closed so we got pizza for dinner. We went to Nate's hostel we relaxed in the lounge before heading to bed.


Viajando a Italia

Tuesday, April 16th

Nate and I woke up to go to Alcázar. It was just as beautiful as the last time I was there with Brie. It was covered in flowers and I got to find all the spots I missed before. We both finished up packing before heading to the airport. Being that I stressed about the craziness that Semana Santa could do and the potential news stories of the strikes in the transportation industry in Spain, we got to the airport 4 hours early. After getting lunch there, we flew to Milan with Ryanair without a hitch. After arriving, we took a bus from the airport to the train station and then walked to our Airbnb. It was a huge space with several rooms that weren't occupied so we had practically the whole space to ourselves. Being that it was late and that we were hungry, we went to Carrefour to pick out dinner. Nate cooked delicious food including pork chops, onions, potatoes, salad and wine.


Milán y Venecia

Wednesday, April 17th

Milan in four hours was a whirlwind. I proudly can say we did so successfully. We saw Piazza del Duomo, Milan Cathedral, Galleria Vittorio Emanuele, Royal Palace, Santa Maria delle Grazie, Teatro alla Scala, San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore, Castello Sforzesco, Parco Sempione, Via Manzoni and Piazza Mercanti. Milan truly can be known for her shopping center. The castle, plazas, galleria, park and church next to where the Last Supper is held are the places we truly entered and experienced. We did end up going into several churches along the way and loved strolling through the huge garden. We saw so many structures of arches and more arches. The Last Supper has been booked for over two months so we were not able to go and see it. However, we prayed at attached church. I had my first Italian gelato at a fancy gelateria which also gave a cookie and yummy cone. Then we went to go checkout of our Airbnb before leaving for Venice. We went to Milan's fancy train station.

After arriving to Venice, we checked into our (kinda dingy, but suitable) hotel. We walked around to Relato Bridge and found out what Nate referred to as "poor man's Plaza Mayor". We saw Ca' Pesaro, a grand palace, and walking around the Grand Canal. We slightly outraged by price of the gandals, 80 euros for a 30 minute ride before 7 PM and 100 euros after. We ended up running into Fran and Nat, two of Nate's classmates, at gelato place. Then we split off after walking through the center area which we would find out to be the less touristy area than what we would see on Thursday. We ended up getting some pretty wacky gelato flavors at Alaska. I chose and split with Nate the flavors of fennel and pistachio. It truly was the best gelato ever. We kept exploring by admiring the beauty of canals. We stumbled upon local university and plenty of students drinking the Venice famous spritz. We ended up eating dinner by there where I got pizza with lots of buffalo mozzarella cheese and Nate got carbonera and the orange spritz. Then we walked aimlessly again until heading back to bed. On the way we stopped at the grocery store to pick up stuff for breakfast.


Venecia: la Ciudad de Amor

Thursday. April 18th

We ate our breakfast and we went to pick up some eye drops for Nate's irritated eye. Then we went for coffee; let me tell you, Italians know how to brew their cups of joe. We walked down the canal past San Salvador until Piazza San Marco. There we saw Torre dell'Orologio and Palazzo Ducale. We found our way to the point across the canal to see the Basilica and Doge's Palace from a view. The area was called Dogna da Mar. We saw Santa Maria della Salute, Galleria dell'Accademia and boatyard squares filled with gondolas. Crossing back over we found a place that sold rolled up sandwiches in a slice of pizza. We tried to find space to sit but weren't allowed to sit or eat in Saint Mark's Plaza. We instead went to the canal and sat and ate overlooking the boats and people watched. We waited in line for cathedral and got to door. I stupidly wasn't wearing an acceptable length of skirt to enter so we went searching for a solution. I ended up getting a pair of cute European pants at H&M for the win. Nate helped save me from a total freak out. Thankfully we got to enter and we were wowed. We found out the mass times to return to for the washing of the feet. Stopping at a grocery store, we grabbed oranges and strawberries. Then we went for coffee and got jipped just for sitting down. To calm us down from the touristy prices, we went to mass. It was a beautiful two hours that I would never want to give up. We witnessed the washing of feet and mass and adoration all in Italian. It was beautiful. I cried quite a bit. We then walked around to find dinner and picked up calzones. We found a small bakery where I got a baby cannoli. We spent the rest of the night exploring and enjoying each other company like sitting by Ponte degli Scalzi. Then we went back to get ready to leave for Florence.


Florencia

Friday, April 19th

We had an Early train to leave for Florence. After getting there we took a bus into center where we checked into Airbnb. We got to drop off bags and began soaking in Florence. We ran into the line outside the Museum, Galleria dell'Accademia. This is where we got to see the legendary David. Yes, I saw David! He is very tall. The rest of the museum had lots of carved stones, trifold, golden panel paintings and an extensive collection of historic musical instruments. We then walked around the center, in and out of churches. We made it to Florence Cathedral and Piazza del Duomo. There we ate at Panini Toscana. It was by far one of the best meals we had on our trip; it was so yummy. The meal included a fun tasting of the 4 cheeses and 3 meats that we got to choose for our panini. I got a glass of Rose wine and Nate got an Italian beer. Our lunch had a gorgeous view of the cathedral. We went around into other churches and many plazas such as Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza della Signoria until we made it to the river. We walked along to the Uffizi gallery and Museo Galileo. We went across the main bridge to see Palace Vecchio. Then I proceeded to make myself almost lose my breath walked up mountainous hill to San Niccolò and Piazzale Michelangelo. The views were breathtaking overlooking the whole city. On our way down we unexpectedly ran into Nat and Fran again. For sunset we walked along the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the oldest stone arch bridge covered with stores along the top. Then we went for gelato at La Carraria. Once again, Italian gelato hasn't wronged me. Then we walked along the streets and past many musicians filling the squares with their talent. Nate and I went to dinner a cute and fancy Italian place called Osteria in Santo Spirito. There I ate gnocchi and Nate got pasta with fried pancetta. We were exhausted so then we went back to head to sleep.


Roma

Saturday. April 20th

Our Airbnb had a connection to a local bakery that included breakfast through our stay. There we sat at a sewing table and drank delicious coffees and ate filled croissants. We went to the train station to head to Rome. The ride was longer than expected as it was delayed almost a half hour and we stopped at nearly every town on the way. After arriving we walked the long way to our Airbnb and found street food pizza to hold us off until later. We dropped off things and headed to Vatican to pick up tickets for Easter mass. To get there we bought 48-hour transportation passes to get across the city and make it easier to try and cram Rome in the 2 ½ days we were to be there.


Arriving to the Vatican, we were engrossed in people waiting outside for the Easter Vigil ceremony. We made our way through to reach the Bronze Gates and Nate split off to pick up the tickets in front of the stylish Swiss guards. We were one step closer to our pilgrimage with our golden tickets in our hands. Saint Peter’s Square was in preparation for mass so most the area was closed. We proceeded to walk along the outer walls until we made it to the Vatican museum where we saw one big line to see the Sistine chapel. We got in immediately and proceeded on our trail to the chapel. From entering the museum to the chapel, it took us in one big line for at least two hours. However, it was worth it; the chapel was beautiful. I secretly got photos even though they specifically say not to, oh well.


After leaving the Vatican we stopped to pick up strawberries, pears, salami and tomatoes. We picnicked in the Piazza Navona surrounded by musicians and people surrounding the fountains and statues. It is public square which used to be a market place and event space in the 15th century. It was lively and surrounded by restaurants and coffee shops. There are three main fountains: Fontana del Quattro Fiume, Four Rivers and del Moro. They all were magnificent and intricately designed. After our picnic, we continued walking towards the Pantheon which is not what I had previously expected. I think I was imagining more of a DC looking structure, but it was a bit dirty and dated (not that it should surprise me… it is from 118/125 AD). It still was magnificent. We peered through the tiny opening of the front doors and Nate impressed me with his architecture knowledge. We saw from the door’s opening a fraction of the oculus, the circular opening which fills the space with natural light and helps create the mastery of the mathematical skill of the building’s creator.


After our admiration, we went to the Trevi Fountain. I of course threw a coin (or two) to make a secret wish. The legend has it if you throw a coin into the fountain and make a wish to return to Rome, your wish will be granted. It was magnificent. The most prominent character depicted in the statues surrounded it is of Triton. Continuing our journey, we went to Capitol hill and Piazza Venezia. It was grand and surrounded by some of the busiest streets with crosswalks without lights. Trying to get the best view of the square, Nate and I ran into moving traffic across to the center and stood there in wow. We proceeded around the square to reach the Roman forum lit up in the night. I couldn’t wrap my head around how ancient they were. We proceeded around until we made it to the Colosseum. As incredible as it was at night, we planned to come back on Sunday to see it during the day. Luckily though at night it wasn’t super busy, so we got to see it up close and sit to gaze up by it beside the collapsed side on a broken column. We knew we had an early morning for Easter, so we went back to our Airbnb to prepare for the Pope.


Pascua

Sunday. April 21st

Our stay at our Airbnb included using the kitchen and the food there for breakfast. Nate made us coffee from the Italian coffee press, and I got ready for mass in Vatican. I never found a dress I truly liked so I went with a floral maxi like skirt and my shall. We left to get there at gate opening at 7:30. Our metro was packed with people all coming along too. There was an enormous line growing outside the walls. We immediately got in and our tensions and excitement rose awaiting entering. We kept saying, “we are in Rome, about to enter the Vatican, on Easter, with the Pope, right now,” very reassuring and reminding ourselves where we were. It was just very surreal and still hard to grasp our heads around even when standing in the midst of thousands of people in the middle of Saint Peter’s square.


After getting through security, we found our way to a spot to what I first was disappointed at but later regretted to even second question. I was first initially upset that we didn’t make it to the seating area as we would have to stand now from 7:45 AM until after the papal blessing at noon. I was thinking that we should have just left a second earlier and we could have got seats. I was starting to get mad at myself. However, God works in mysterious ways. We ended up being in THE front of the standing section in the corner touching the center isle that led up to the altar. I realized we could not have had better seats. If we had gotten seats we would have been at the edge or in the middle unable to see anything. Nate reminded me of the immense worries I had and to let them go. We ended up standing by other study abroad students who were studying in Rome who gave us recommendations to get to the airport for the following day. Before mass began we saw the band proceed throughout the square up until we began a united rosary in Italian. Nate and I pretty much followed along responding and saying the prayers in English instead.


Mass started just perfectly on time, 10 AM on the dot. The Pope came out and I was affixed with emotions and amazement. The mass was just beyond beautiful and said in at least twenty languages from the various prayers of the faithful, readings and responses. We were surrounded by 80,000 people in Saint Peter’s Square all praying together in unison the Holy Mass. I fell to my knees almost in tears during Liturgy of the Eucharist. It was incredible. Receiving communion, we lucked out being at the edge of the barriers. Priests from everywhere came out giving out the Body of Christ.


After mass ended Pope Francis proceeded to greet and bless the crowds. He got into his Pope-mobile and made his way through the aisles throughout and outside of the Square. Once again our spot could not have been better. Due to being at the corner of a four-way path, he came by us twice. He was no more than 6 feet away from us when he passed. I was overcome with emotions, crying through recording and trying to be presently there as he came by us, giving blessings to us all. After he made his way through past everyone he went up into the Basilica up to his lookout point to give us Papal blessing and give us his address. Although it was in Italian and we didn’t understand what he was saying, it was beautiful nonetheless (it also helped reading a translation of it later). What I did understand was “Happy Easter” and what a happy Easter it truly was.


As the crowds dwindled out we knew we could get into the Basilica following the blessing. We made our way in and out of the various standing sections until we made it to the doors of the Basilica. Entering the heart of the Catholic Church, my emotions almost lost it. Pope Saint Peter is believed to be buried here and we were overtaken at its grand details. The structure is enormous and filled with beautiful marble floors, millions of mosaic designs, stunning works of art, a gorgeous altar and an immense number of priceless pieces covering the walls and various chapels. The baptismal fountain was stunning. We even saw the beautiful Pieta, Mary holding her child’s dead body, and I once again was flooded with emotions.


I sometimes struggle with the church’s immense showiness of their structures and churches as sometimes I question why money is put into the grandiose details and details. However, I am reminded that these artworks, treasures are in celebration of the Church and the community and to honor their faith. There might always be problems with institutions, but I was recapitulated the immense belief we have over Christ’s resurrection and how incredibly immense and important that is. I probably will never get an opportunity like this again in my life of being apart of this Easter mass again here in the connection place of the world. However, I oddly was was also longing to be with family over Easter and surrounded by my familiar home and parish. I realized Easter flew by in a flash by traveling and didn’t have a time to breathe and be truly reflective.


The rest of the day we decided to take a little easy, seeing the last parts of Rome on our bucket list and be present with each other after all of our back to back traveling. We stopped for gelato outside of the Vatican at a recommendation given by Brie at Old Bridge. There we got to choose three flavors on any sized cone. They were divine. I choose some of their specialties such as Profundo di Sicilia which was a mix of almond, pistachio and orange, along with a mix of Almond, apricot and Amaretto and rum cream. I know a weird combination, but I loved every single one of them. I even got some whip cream on top! After eating our combinations of gelato, we went to see the rest of Rome that we could. We first went to the Spanish steps: 137 steps up which is known to be one of the romantic places in Rome and was covered with flowers. It is one of the widest staircases in Europe. At the bottom of the steps is Piazza di Spagna which has pretty fountain and the top has Piazza della Trinita dei Monti which also has a church standing tall overlooking the steps.


We saw the entrance to Villa Borghese, Rome’s largest park with fountains and monuments, but we continued on to see what we could, including the Colosseum during the day. On our way we picked up lunch which was a street food pasta place that offered two options. We of course got both and split them between the two of us. We walked past the zoo and Via del Corso. Getting back towards the Colosseum it began to get grey and slightly drizzly. We saw a bit of Palatine Hill and more of the Roman Forum. Stopping back by the Airbnb we packed a bit to make our morning easier and take a mini nap after our long, full morning. After we went back towards the center to find dinner. We ended up near the Colosseum again and at a cute restaurant where we sat outside and got our last bit of authentic Italian food. We ended our meal with trying the famous Italian limoncello. The exhaustion of traveling was officially hitting us so we went back and got ready for our trip home.


Returning Home

Monday. April 22nd


Today was a day full of traveling. We left the Airbnb after making breakfast and our last cup of Italian coffee to the train station where we took an express train to the airport, 15 miles outside of the city center. There we got through a pretty busy and slightly unorganized security who kept shoving us to busier lines until getting through the food court. Nate and I made it up to a lounge where we downloaded shows for our flight and took a moment to breath and reflect about our trip. We both had the same flight to our connections in Lisbon together before officially splitting off. I had to keep reminding Nate to not be sad as we had our next trip coming up shortly. Once in Lisbon we picked up lunch and found a spot to camp out. We went over all the things we saw and experienced over this last week. Wow, we were impressed. His flight was in three hours and mine in eight. I went with him to his gate to say goodbyes and then awaited my flight. I got to chill a bit before my flight which ended up getting delayed and switched planes after boarding the first one. The plane I took back was express and one of the tiniest aircrafts I have ever been on with max 20 rows and two by two seats. I got back at 2 AM which was past the bus schedule in Sevilla, so I took an Uber back to my casa. I took a much-needed shower and fell dead asleep, comfortable in a bed I knew.


Easy Week Back in Sevilla

Tuesday. April 23rd-Friday, April 26th

My one class on Tuesday was canceled due my professor being in Glasgow for the week unexpectedly, so I thankfully slept in until almost noon. After lunch I took the day very slowly, finishing up my project for my presentation on Wednesday and unpacking. Wednesday I went to EUSA which I should have remembered that my class was canceled. Instead of prepped for my presentation and wrote out my notes. I returned back to my casa for lunch, which was delicious having a home cooked meal, and then I went to my advertising class in the rain. After I had my presentation over the Gastronomy of the Canary Islands in my Culture of Food and Wine class. It thankfully went really well. My friend Mia had hers over Rioja so she even brought a bottle of wine to share with the class. After I went back to my casa where I worked on an assignment I missed from traveling Monday and getting together my thoughts for this blog. Thursday was likewise a work day for me. I went to my morning class and then worked out some things I needed to catch up on for back home like applying for an executive position, finalizing my fall class schedule and finishing some class assignments for here. That evening for dinner Teresa’s brother who is the host dad of my friend’s Annie and Caroline came over with them for dinner. It was nice to have some guests over that I knew and we got to catch up about our Semana Santa experiences and our recent travels. It was also nice to meet other people’s host families. I decided to stay in Sevilla for the weekend as I needed a break between two big travel trips. Friday I got to sleep in a bit before heading to Almazen to finish typing up my blog. Afterwards I went back for lunch before heading to see a place in Sevilla that I haven’t been to, Museo de Bellas Artes. It will was filled with Spanish artists and paintings depicting landscapes of Spain and Seville. I went with my friend Eva so the two of us finished our vist with getting ice cream from bolas. From there we went to meet up with Caroline and Rachel to see Avengers Endgame. It was weird to go to a screening in a theatre with Spainish subtitles, but thankfully it was in the orginal form of English. I returned to my casa for dinner and then to figure out what I was doing the rest of the weekend.


I hope to continue my last bit of my weekend to Italica and Malaga in my next blog post as this one is extenstive enough (sorry). Until next time!

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page